Welcome to the 11th annual conference on Motion, Interaction and Games 2018 (formerly known as Motion In Games).

Motion plays a crucial role in interactive applications, such as VR, AR, and video games. Characters move around, objects are manipulated or move due to physical constraints, entities are animated, and the camera moves through the scene. Even the motion of the player nowadays is used as input to such interactive systems.

Motion is currently studied in many different areas of research, including graphics and animation, game technology, robotics, simulation, computer vision, and also physics, psychology, and urban studies. Cross-fertilization between these communities can considerably advance the state-of-the-art in the area.

The goal of the Motion, Interaction and Games conference is to bring together researchers from this variety of fields to present their most recent results, to initiate collaborations, and to contribute to the establishment of the research area. The conference will consist of regular paper sessions, poster presentations, and as well as presentations by a selection of internationally renowned speakers in all areas related to interactive systems and simulation. The conference includes entertaining cultural and social events that foster casual and friendly interactions among the participants.

Call for paper


Topics of Interest

The relevant topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Animation Systems
  • Animation Algorithms and Techniques
  • Character Animation
  • Behavioral Animation
  • Facial Animation
  • Particle Systems
  • Simulation of Natural Environments and Natural Phenomena
  • Natural Motion Simulation
  • Virtual Humans
  • Physics-based Motion
  • Crowd Simulation
  • Path Planning
  • Navigation and Way-finding
  • Flocking and Steering Behaviour
  • Camera Motion
  • Object Manipulation
  • Motion Capture Techniques
  • Motion Analysis and Synthesis
  • Gesture Recognition
  • Interactive Narrative

Author guidelines

The review process will be double-blind, which means that paper submissions must be anonymous and include the unique paper ID that will be assigned upon creating a submission using the online system. Papers should not have previously appeared in, or be currently submitted to, any other conference or journal. All papers will be reviewed carefully by the International Program Committee members.

Research can be submitted as a long paper (7-10 pages and a 20 minute talk),
a short paper (4-6 pages and a 15 minute talk), or as a poster presentation
(1 page abstract and presentation of poster at conference). Long papers should include a significant contribution to the state of the art. Short papers should include an augmentation or new application of existing work. Short papers can also contain the mature seeds of new research. Two types of work can be submitted directly for poster presentation:

  1. Work that has been published elsewhere but is of particular relevance to the MIG community can be submitted as a poster. This work and the venue in which it as published should be identified in the abstract.
  2. Work that is of interest to the MIG community but is not yet mature enough to appear as a short or long paper.

Posters will not appear in the official MIG proceedings or in the ACM Digital library but will appear in an online database for distribution at author’s discretion. Accepted papers will be presented at the conference during oral sessions, or as posters during a poster session. Posters will be reviewed single-blind, so author information may be included.


Conference Chairs

  • Panayiotis Charalambous, The Cyprus Institute
  • Yiorgos Chrysanthou, The University of Cyprus & RISE

Organizing Committee

Local Organizing Chair

Program Chairs

  • Ben Jones, University of Utah
  • Jehee Lee, Seoul National University

International Program Committee

  • Adam Bargteil – University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Aline Normoyle – Venturi Labs
  • Anne-Hélène Olivier – University Rennes 2, France
  • Brandon Haworth – York University
  • Dan Casas – Universidad Rey Juan Carlos
  • Edmond S. L. Ho – Hong Kong Baptist University
  • Franck Multon – Université Rennes
  •   He Wang – University of Leeds
  • Hubert P. H. Shum – Northumbria University
  • Jan Ondrej – Disney Research, Los Angeles
  • Julien Pettre – INRIA
  • Jungdam Won – Seoul National University
  • Kenny Erleben – The University of Copenhagen
  • Libin Liu – Disney Research, Pittsburgh
  • Ludovic Hoyet – INRIA
  • Manfred Lau – Lancaster University
  • Marc Christie – IRISA
  • Marcelo Kallmann – University of California, Merced
  • Matthias Teschner – University of Freiburg
  • Michael Neff – University of California, Davis
  • Michiel van de Panne – University of British Columbia
  • Mubbasir Kapadia – Rutgers University
  • Nathan Sturtevant – University of Denver
  • Nuria Pelechano –  Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (UPC)
  • Petros Faloutsos – York University
  • Ronan Boulic – Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
  • Sheldon Andrews – École de technologie supérieure
  • Stephen Guy – University of Minnesota
  • Steve Tonneau – LAAS CNRS
  • Sven Koenig – University of Southern California
  • Taku Komura – Edinburgh University
  • Victor Zordan – Clemson University
  • Yiorgos Chrysanthou – University Of Cyprus
  • Yunfei Bai – XZhigang Deng – University of Houston


Post a message


Important dates

  • Conference Dates

    08 Nov.



    10 Nov.


  • 09 Jul.


    Draft paper submission deadline

  • 20 Aug.


    Draft paper acceptance notification

Contact information

  • +357 22 591900
  • Panayiotis Charalambous and Yiorgos Chrysanthou