Following up its successful 2014 and 2016 editions held in Brasilia and Florianopolis, respectively, the 3rd IAA-LACW will keep the focus on topics related to CubeSat technology, providing a forum for scientists and engineers to discuss their achievements and cutting edge findings. Considering the increasing interest in CubeSat activities, and the recent successful Cubesat missions in Latin America, the International Academy of Astronautics is organizing in 2018 a workshop where participants from industry and academia will have the opportunity to share their professional knowledge, enlarging their networks in the subject. Some of the most outstanding professionals in CubeSat missions and applications will attend the workshop giving special talks and lectures. 

The city of Ubatuba, located in the state of Sao Paulo, is a trend summer destination. With a population of around 90,000 people, the city is known for having a very high quality of life. 

Ubatuba is a home to the Ubatuba-Sat initiative. During the symposium, the temperature is expected to be in the range between 25 °C and 35 °C (77 °F and 95 °F). 

Call for paper


The workshop will cover technical novelties and tutorial overviews on small satellites related topics including but not limited to: 
- CubeSat innovative missions and applications 
- Space environment 
- Remote sensing and Earth observation 
- Innovative solutions for university satellite subsystems 
- Launch opportunities 
- Space debris 
- University platform for biomedical research in space 
- Ground segment and stations network 
- New perspectives for university satellites 
- CubeSats future payloads and experiments 
- Micro-propulsion subsystems 
- CubeSat in-orbit experience 
- Technical novelties on PocketQubeSat, BallonSat, TubeSat, CanSat and other standards

Author guidelines

Authors are invited to submit a one-page extended abstract (max 400 words), in English, by August 1st, 2018.

Manuscripts will be accepted based on the quality of the extended abstract, the originality of the work and/or ideas, and the anticipated interest in the proposed subject. Submissions that are based on experimental results, current data, or reports on ongoing missions are especially encouraged. During the reviewing process, the works will be selected for presentation in oral or poster sessions, according to their relevance.

All papers must be submitted online thtough It is recommended to proof read the paper before submission.

The deadline for the complete manuscript submission is by September 30, 2018.

The complete manuscript must be written in English, and must contain the paper title, the author names, their corresponding affiliation, postal and e-mail addresses. The paper shall be prepared using the following format: 

- Paper: standard A4 paper (21.0 × 29.7 cm), one column format 
- Page limit: 10 pages. 
- Margins: 2.54 cm (all sides) 
- Title: 12 pt bold, Arial, centered, all capital letters 
- Author names: 12 pt bold, Arial, centered 
- Affiliation: 12 pt italic, Arial, centered 
- Abstract body: 12 pt, Arial, justified with single line spacing 
- Equations, figures, literature may be included with references in the body text 
- Paper body: 12 pt, Arial, justified with single line spacing 
- Page numbers must not be added to the manuscript

Please note that the presenting author of each accepted paper has to register to the conference.


Organizing Committee

General chairs

Jean Michel Contant, IAA secretary
Chantal Cappelletti, PhD, University of Nottingham, IAA Member
Eduardo Augusto Bezerra, PhD, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC)
Simone Battistini, PhD, Universidade de Brasilia (UnB)

Program chair

Leonardo Kessler Slongo, Dr., Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC)

Local arrangements

Cândido Osvaldo de Moura, E. M. Presidente Tancredo de Almeida Neves
Nataliia Kuriacha
Vladimir Taftay

Scientific Committee

Anna Guerman, Universidade Beira Interior, Portugal

Benjamin K. Malphrus, Morehead State University, USA

Carlos A. Gurgel Veras, Brazilian Space Agency (AEB), Brazil

Chantal Cappelletti, University of Nottingham,UK

Cristiano Fiorilo de Melo, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG), Brazil

David Klumpar, Montana State University, USA

Eber Huanca Cayo, Universidad Catolica San Pablo, Peru

Ediz Cetin, Macquarie University, Australia

Eduardo Augusto Bezerra, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC), Brazil

Fernando Aguado Agelet, Universidad de Vigo, Spain

Filippo Graziani, IAA/GAUSS, Italy

Geilson Loureiro, Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas Espaciais (INPE), Brazil

Hank Voss, Taylor University, NearSpace Launch, USA

James Cutler, University of Michigan, USA

James Spann­, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, USA

Jean Michel Contant, International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), France

Jordi Puig-Suari, Cal Poly, USA

Kleber Vieira de Paiva, Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina (UFSC), Brazil

Livio Gratto, Colomb Institute (CONAE­-UNSAM), Argentina

Luigi Dilillo, CNRS / Laboratoire d'Informatique, de Robotique et de Microelectronique de Montpellier (LIRMM), France

Luis Zea, University of Colorado, Guatemala

Mengu Cho, Kyushu Institute of Technology - Kyutech, Japan

Mike Swartout, St. Louis University, USA

Mikhail Ovchinnikov, Keldysh Institute of Applied Mathematics, Russia

Rainer Sandau, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany

Renato Alves Borges, Universidade de Brasilia (UnB), Brazil

Riccardo Bevilacqua, University of Florida, USA

Robert J. Twiggs, Morehead State University, USA

Shinichi Nakasuka, University of Tokyo, Japan

Simone Battistini, Universidade de Brasilia (UnB), Brazil

Vladislav Solovey, Kosmotras/GAUSS, Russia

Walter Abrahão Dos Santos, Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas Espaciais (INPE), Brazil

Steering Committee

Chantal Cappelletti

Eduardo Augusto Bezerra


Post a message


Important dates

  • Conference Dates

    03 Dec.



    07 Dec.


  • 01 Aug.


    Abstract submission deadline

  • 30 Sep.


    Draft paper submission deadline

  • 15 Oct.


    Draft paper acceptance notification

Contact information