IEEE/ACM CHASE is a leading international conference in the field of connected health. It aims at bringing together researchers worldwide working in the smart and connected health area to exchange innovative ideas and develop collaborations. Connected health can be defined as the use of Internet, sensing, communications and intelligent techniques in support of health related Applications, Systems and Engineering. Connected health brings together multidisciplinary technologies to provide preventive or remote treatments by utilizing digital heath information structure such as body sensor networks and intelligent techniques such as from Data to Knowledge to Decisions, while at the same time connecting patient and caregivers seamlessly in the loop of the healthcare ecosystem. Future Connected health will be realized by providing rich medical information to each individual through replacing infrequent, clinic-based measurements with unobtrusive, continuous sensing, monitoring and assessment. Connected health technologies will enable preventive health and personalized medicine and may significantly reduce healthcare costs. However, a number of challenges still need to be addressed to enable connected health worldwide. 

Building upon the success of CHASE 2016 and CHASE 2017, CHASE 2018 will be held in Washington, D.C. on September 26-28, 2018. Prospective authors are cordially invited to submit their original contributions covering completed or ongoing work related to the connected health area. IEEE/ACM CHASE positions itself as a venue for science and engineering researchers to publish their research and discovery, including those have potential to enable innovations but not yet ready for clinical study.

Call for paper



  • Public health and Home Monitoring

  • Healthcare Data processing, Data Analytics, Data mining

  • Medical imaging & Wearable Computing

  • Personalized Medicine & Preventive Treatment

  • Evolutionary and longitudinal patient and disease models

  • Security, privacy and trust for connected Health services/applications


  • Biomedical Sensor Monitoring System

  • Integration of medical devices with wireless health

  • Body area networks

  • Implantable Sensor Networks

  • Remote Medical Diagnosis System

  • Communication System or Decision Support System design for connected health

Engineering Technologies

  • Design of Wearable devices

  • Smart garments/textiles

  • Communication/network infrastructures, and protocols

  • Robotics for connected Health

  • Software, systems and performance engineering for Connected Health

Author guidelines

  • Poster size can be selected by authors. Typical sizes include A0, A1, 2 x 3 feet, and 3 x 4 feet. Poster board will be provided to hold the poster during the CHASE conference. The authors should choose appropriate size to present their works effectively.
  • Place your paper title, authors'names and authors'affiliation(s) at the top of the poster to allow conference attendees to find your paper easily. The title of your poster should appear at the top in CAPITAL letters.
  • Authors can have freedom to display their poster information in figures, tables, text, photographs.
  • The poster shall be prepared to convey information to audiences effective and should be structured by including the background of the research followed by results and conclusions.


Organizing Committee

General Chairs

Weisong Shi , Wayne State University, USA 
Anwar Walid , Nokia Bell Labs, USA 

Program Chairs

E. Kevin Hall, Yale School of Medicine, USA 
Fei Wang, Weill Cornell Medicine, USA 
Gang Zhou, College of William and Mary, USA 

Workshop Chair

Song Han, University of Connecticut, USA 

Poster and Demo Chair

Ye Sun, Michigan Technological University, USA 

Event Chairs

Jiang (Leo) Li, Howard University, USA 
Wei Wang, Shenandoah Services 

Publication Chair

Kewei Sha, University of Houston, USA 

Panel Chair

Srinivasan Suresh, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, USA 

Student Travel Award Chair

Hua Fang, University of University of Massachusetts Dartmouth (UMassD) & UMass Medical School 

Web Chair

Md Shaad Mahmud, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA 

Steering Committee
Paolo Bonato, Harvard Medical School, USA 
John Lach, University of Virginia, USA 
Insup Lee, University of Pennsylvania, USA 
Misha Pavel, Northeastern University, USA 
Majid Sarrafzadeh, University of California at Los Angeles, USA 
Weisong Shi (Chair), Wayne State University, USA 
Marjorie Skubic, University of Missouri, USA 
Honggang Wang (Co-Chair), University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA

TPC Members
Bengt Arnetz, Michigan State University 
Laura Barnes, University of Virginia
Dinesh Bhatia, University of Texas Dallas
Jiang Bian, University of Florida
Paolo Bonato, Harvard Medical School
Ping Chen, UMass-Boston
Yingying Chen, Stevens Institute of Technology
Yiran Chen, University of Pittsburgh
Octav Chipara, University of Iowa 
Ki Chon, University of Connecticut
Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, University of Texas at San Antonio 
Mooi Choo Chuah, Lehigh University
Giancarlo Fortino, University of Calabria
Hassan Ghasemzadeh, Washington State University
Jiaqi Gong, University of Maryland Baltimore County
David Gotz, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Raffaele Gravina, University of Calabria
Song Han, University of Connecticut
Xiao Hu, University of California at San Francisco
Shuai Huang, University of Washington
Roozbeh Jafari, Texas A&M University
Xiaoqian Jiang, UCSD
Sunghoon Lee, University of Massachusetts
Feng Lin, University of Colorado Denver
Shan Lin, Stony Brook University
Liang Liu, Northwestern University
Yuan Luo, Northwestern University
Honggang Wang, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA
Hsi-Pin Ma, National Tsing Hua University
Tommaso Melodia, Northeastern University
Bobak Mortazavi, Texas A&M University
Robert Moskovitch, Ben Gurion University of the Negev
Rama Mukkamala, Michigan State University
Shahriar Nirjon, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Emmanuel O. Agu, WPI
Kewei Sha, University of Houston, USA
Marjorie Skubic, University of Missouri, USA
Oleg Sokolsky, UPenn
Ye Sun, Michigan Technological University
Chiu Tan, Temple University
Hao Tian, IBM Research
Krishna Kumar Venkatasubramanian, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Tam Vu, University of Colorado Denver
James Weimer, University of Pennsylvania
Wenyao Xu, SUNY Buffalo
Christopher Yang, Drexel University
Eric Yeatman, Imperial College London
James Yu, Yale University
Shucheng Yu, University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Dongsong Zhang, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Mi Zhang, Michigan State University
Yanchao Zhang, Arizona State University
Ting Zhu, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Ching-Hua Chen, IBM, T.J. Watson Research Center
John Lach, University of Virginia
Yan Li, University of Michigan
Ming-Chun Huang, Case Western Reserve University


Post a message


Important dates

  • Conference Dates

    26 Sep.



    28 Sep.


  • 02 Jun.


    Draft paper acceptance notification

  • 08 Jun.


    Draft paper submission deadline

Contact information


Organized By