Objectives: RAST 2019 has the main objective of providing a forum for the presentation and review of developments in space, as well as all aspects of recent developments in space technologies. A focus is desired on a historical and current evaluation of the economic aspects of space technology and how it can further contribute to development in its aspects with specific emphasis on how to reach the Sustainable Development Goals 2030. Presentations are encouraged from government and international space agencies as well as the private sector.

Call for paper

Important Dates

Draft paper submission deadline:2019-03-18

Topics of submission

Topics: In general, contributions regarding all aspects of recent developments in space technologies are welcome. Presentations addressing the specific theme of RAST 2019 are especially encouraged. Papers may fall under, but not be limited to the following topics:

 Tackling poverty and unequalities from space

 Space to fight against climate change and global warming

 Renewable energy from space

 Space technologies to achieve zero hunger

 Space technologies for water purification

 Economic aspects of space, review and prospects

 Softwares and software techonologies for space vehicles and ground systems

 Putting the block chain in space

 Interplanetary Contamination and Extraterrestrial Life

 Launch and Re-entry

 New and emerging private space initiatives and startups

 Space tourism for ordinary people including legal, physiological and other aspects

 New human habitable spacecraft, space capsules

 Space technologies that contribute to public safety, and humanitarian efforts in the face of both natural, man-made threats

 Earth observation projects and programs geared especially toward prediction, mitigation, monitoring of natural disasters

 Computational modeling for design, development and control of space vehicles

 Development of new and affordable launch capabilities

 Small satellites, micro, nano and pico satellites, cubesats

 New and novel instrumentation for various spacecraft functions, including ADCS, power, vehicle control, space robotics, etc.

 Design and construction of space structures, space systems, materials, simulation and testing

 Additive manufacturing technologies for space applications

 Applications of nanotechnology in space

 New remote sensing technologies and applications, i.e. hyperspectral sensing, SAR, applications in environment, agriculture, etc.

 Big Data from Space: Exploration of different types and huge amounts of data generated by space assets

 Asteroid mining, legal and technological aspects

 Developments in GNSS, interoperability, new applications, including regional positioning systems

 Satellite time and frequency transfer systems

 Advanced technologies for satellite communications

 Scientific applications, deep space, near-earth space, space weather, microgravity

 Computational modeling of material processing and other flow physics associated processes under microgravity conditions

 International cooperation, especially among spacefaring and developing countries

 Space law, space medicine, and benefits of information available from space (social, educational, politics, health and others)

 Visions of the future of space science, multiverses, black holes, etc.


Honorary Chair:

Prof.Dr.Erhan Afyoncu 
(Rector, National Defence University) 

General Chair:

Serdar Menekay 
(Director, Hezârfen ASTIN)

General Vice Chair:

Hasan Hüseyin Balık (TurAFA)
Rafet Dalkıran (TurAFA)
Ersin Göse (NDU)

International Program Committee:

Hiroaki Akiyama (Wakayama Univ.)
Selim Aksoy (IEEE GRSS)
Orhan Altan (İTÜ, ISPRS)
Özer Arnas (USMA)
Mitat Birkan (AFOSR)
Fred Hadaegh (NASA-JPL)
Mark S. Maurice (AIAA/AFOSR/IO)
Banu Onaral (Drexel Univ.)
Ali Sayır (AFOSR)
Toru Shimada (JAXA, Tokyo Univ.)
Sir Martin Sweeting (SSTL)



Technical Program Co-chairs:

Ömer Çetin (Hezârfen ASTIN)
Arsev Eraslan (BOUN, Hezârfen ASTIN)
Fuat İnce (Hezârfen ASTIN)
Okyay Kaynak (BOUN, Hezârfen ASTIN)
M.Fevzi Ünal (MEF Univ.)

International Relations Co-chairs:

Önder ALPASLAN (Hezârfen ASTIN)
Cengiz Hacızade (ITÜ)
Gökhan İnalhan (ITÜ)
Arif Karabeyoğlu (Koç Univ.)

Special Sessions Co-chairs:

Nazlı Can (IBA) 
Derya Maktav (İTÜ) 
Elif Sertel (İTÜ) 

Publications and Media Co-chairs:

H. Buket Başarır (Hezârfen ASTIN) 
Emrah Köksalmış (Hezârfen ASTIN) 

Tutorial/Workshop Co-Chairs:

A. Rüstem Aslan (İTÜ, ASTIN) 
Şenol ERGİN (Hezârfen ASTIN) 

Advisory Committee:

Tayfun Günel (İTÜ)
Zerefşan Kaymaz (İTÜ)
Hakan Kuntman (İTÜ)
Ozan Tekinalp (METU)
Celal Sami Tüfekçi (UDI)
Yavuz Yaman (METU)
Mehmet Yörükoğlu (TurAFA)

Local Organization Committee:

Tolga Akçay (ASTIN)
Ramazan Erkek (ASTIN)

Web Committee:

Ahmet Ertuğrul (Hezârfen ASTIN) 
Ramazan Yetiş (Hezârfen ASTIN) 


Leave a message


Contact information

  • (+90) 212 663 24 90

Sponsored By

  • National Defence University (NDU) / Hezârfen Aeronautics and Space Technologies Institute (ASTIN)
    Turkish Air Force Academy (TurAFA)
    Istanbul Technical University (İTÜ)
    Boğaziçi University (BOUN)
    Middle East Technical University (METU)
    MEF University (MEF)

Supported By

  • Aeronautics and Space Technologies Institute - ASTIN
    IEEE Aerospace & Electronic Systems Society
    IEEE Geoscience & Remote Sensing Society
    AIAA (American Inst. for Aeronautics & Astronautics)
    EARSeL-Euro. Assoc. of Remote Sensing Lab.
    ISPRS-Int. Soc. for Photogrammetry &Remote Sens.
    URSI-International Union of Radio Science