Theorems and root shells: things you absolutely can not argue with.
Until now, Europe lacked a premier academic symposium on offensive technologies.
ROOTS fills this gap by providing an academic platform to discuss trends in exploitation, reversing, and other offensive techniques and how to protect against them.
ROOTS is co-located with DeepSec 2018.
To facilitate interaction with industry, the ROOTS ticket be will valid for all DeepSec conference tracks on both days, including the industry tracks, and tickets for the industry track will be valid for ROOTS.

Call for paperSubmit paper

Important Dates

Draft paper submission deadline:2018-10-06

Abstract submission deadline:2018-08-26

Author guidelines

All papers must be original and not simultaneously submitted to another journal or conference. Submissions to ROOTS are not limited in page count, but their length should be commensurate with the results; 5-10 pages of two-column PDF using the sigconf template from We encourage submissions of papers based on results previously presented at industry or hacker conferences, so long as the papers themselves have not been presented elsewhere. We also encourage Systematization of Knowledge (SoK) submissions. The following paper categories are welcome:

  • New exploitation techniques and methodologies
  • New reverse engineering techniques and methodologies
  • The role of exploitation in the science of security
  • The role of reverse engineering in the science of security
  • New unintended models of programming and execution wherein the program is encoded in data, metadata, descriptors, etc.
  • Formal models of exploitation and formal methods for exploitation
  • Systematization of knowledge in exploitation
  • Systematization of knowledge in reverse engineering
  • Exploitation of trending platforms and architectures: IoT, cloud, SDNs, etc.
  • Reverse engineering of trending platforms and architectures: IoT, cloud, SDNs, etc.
  • Exploitation perspectives on emerging trust models: SGX, blockchains, etc.


Program Committee

  • Patroklos (argp) Argyroudis (CENSUS S.A.)

  • Stephen Checkoway (University of Illinois at Chicago)

  • Lucas Davi (University of Duisburg-Essen)

  • Mario Heiderich (Cure53)

  • René Mayrhofer (JKU Linz)

  • Marcus Niemietz (RUB)

  • Alexander Peslyak (Openwall)

  • Konrad Rieck (TU Braunschweig)

  • Sebastian Schinzel (FH Münster)

  • Juraj Somorovsky (Hackmanit)

  • Filippo Valsorda (Cloudflare)

  • Edgar Weippl (TU Wien, SBA Research)

  • Fabian Yamaguchi (TU Braunschweig, LeftShift)

  • Stephano Zanero (University Politecnico di Milano)

Organizing committee

  • René Pfeiffer (DeepSec)

  • Edgar Weippl (TU Wien, SBA Research)

  • Adrian Dabrowksi (SBA Research)


Leave a message


Contact information


Sponsored By

  • The Imperial Riding School Vienna