The Australian Institute of Physics and the Australian Optical Society, with the support of the Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF) and the Australian Nanotechnology Network (ANN), warmly welcome you to the 23rd AIP Congress and the Australian Optical Society Conference that will be held jointly with the 43rd Australian Conference on Optical Fibre Technology (ACOFT) and with the 2018 Conference on Optoelectronic and Microelectronic Materials and Devices (COMMAD). Seamlessly integrated to form one of Australia’s foremost science forums, the meeting will take place in beautiful Perth on the leafy campus of the University of Western Australia, during 9-13 December 2018.

To Australia’s industries, we welcome your presence at the congress and look forward to your suggestions as to how to make the Congress most relevant to you! To Australia’s science teachers, we want to include you as part of the Congress and look forward to your involvement. To all university academics, government and industry scientists, to all science students and to our international colleagues, please help us make this a big success by submitting your best work to this conference.

The conference strongly supports the principles of equity and diversity and encourages contributions from all. The Congress organisers will strive to achieve gender balance and are committed to equal representation of male and female speakers in plenary and invited talks.

On behalf of the Australian physics, science and technology community, welcome to Perth!

Call for paperSubmit paper

Important Dates

Draft paper submission deadline:2018-07-15


Conference Organising Committee
Gerd Schroeder-Turk (Chair)
Ian McArthur (Co-Chair)
Igor Bray (Co-Chair)
Almantas Pivrikas (Secretary)
Ron Burman (Treasurer)
David Blair
Jodie Bradby
Sharon Eyer
Ketesse Hansen
Stuart Midgley
Mariusz Martyniuk
Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop
Ana-Sunčana Smith
Geoff Swan
Cathryn Trott
Kathryn Wilson
Conference Logistics (Secretariat)

Conference Program Committee
Michael Tobar (Chair)
Jingbo Wang (Co-Chair)
Bruce Gardiner (Secretary)
Igor Bray
Brett Carter (STSP)
Evelyne Deplazes (Biophysics)
Simon Doe
Martin Ebert
Ben Eggleton (AOS)
Lorenzo Faraone (COMMAD)
Simon Fleming (ACOFT)
Matthew Hole (Plasma)
Mikhail Kostylev (CMM)
Pegah Fatemah Maasoumi (WIP)
Mariusz Martyniuk (COMMAD)
Ian McArthur
Robert McLaughlin (AOS)
Andrea Morello (QUICC)
Maria Parrappilly (PEG)
Gerd Schroeder-Turk
Lister Staveley-Smith (ASA)
Chris Vale (ATMOP)
Anton Wallner (NUPP)

AOS/ACOFT Technical Program Committee
Robert McLaughlin (Chair), University of Adelaide
Igor Aharonovich, University of Technology Sydney
Mikkel Andersen, University of Otago
Shaghik Atakaramians, University of New South Wales
Andrea Blanco Redondo, University of Sydney
Joel Carpenter, University of Queensland
Benjamin Eggleton, University of Sydney
Miro Erkintalo, University of Auckland
Simon Fleming, University of Sydney
Daniel Gomez, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
Peijun Gong, University of Western Australia
John Harvey, University of Auckland
Irina Kabakova, University of Technology Sydney
Brendan Kennedy, University of Western Australia
Jiawen Li, University of Adelaide
Pegah Maasoumi, University of Melbourne
Mohsen Rahmani, Australian National University
Frederique Vanholsbeeck, University of Auckland
Michael Withford, Macquarie University

COMMAD Scientific Advisory Committee
Hark Hoe Tan, Australian National University (Chair)
Madhu Bhaskaran, RMIT University
Gavin Conibeer, University of New South Wales
Jeffrey Davis, Swinburne University of Technology
John Dell, University of Western Australia
Sima Dimitrijev, Griffith University
Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem, University of Adelaide
Lorenzo Faraone, University of Western Australia
Lan Fu, Australian National University
Ken Grant, Defence Science and Technology Organisation
Alex Hamilton, University of New South Wales
Rosie Hicks, Australian National Fabrication Facility
Justin Hodgkiss,Victoria University of Wellington, NZ
Chennupati Jagadish, Australian National University
Deb Kane, Macquarie University
Fouad Karouta, Australian National University
Girish Lakhwani, University of Sydney
Mariusz Martyniuk, University of Western Australia
Jeff McCallum, University of Melbourne
Adam Micolich, University of New South Wales
Arnan Mitchell, RMIT University
Tanya Monro, University of Adelaide
Paul Mulvaney, University of Melbourne
Dragomir Neshev, Australian National University
Almandas Pivrikas, Murdoch University
Aleksandar Rakic, University of Queensland
Peter Reece, University of New South Wales
David Reilly, University of Sydney
Sven Rogge, University of New South Wales
Jai Singh, Charles Darwin University
Richard Tilley, University of New South Wales
Jin Zou, University of Queensland


Leave a message


Contact information


Sponsored By

  • University of Western Australia
    IEEE Western Australia Section ED/SSC/PHO Joint Chapter