The 13th Theoretical Aspects of Software Engineering Symposium (TASE 2019) will be held in Guilin, China in July, 2019. TASE is an international symposium that aims to bring together researchers and developers from academia and industry with interest in the theoretical aspects of software engineering. Modern society is increasingly dependent on software systems that are becoming larger and more complex. This poses new challenges to current software engineering methodologies that need to be enhanced using modern results from theoretical computer science. We invite submission of research papers on topics covering all theoretical aspects of software engineering, including those describing applications of theoretical computer science in industrial applications and software engineering methodologies.

Call for paper

Important Dates

Draft paper submission deadline:2019-01-11

Draft paper acceptance notification:2019-03-22

Abstract submission deadline:2019-01-04

Final paper submission deadline:2019-04-30

Call for paper description

We solicit contributions that describe original and unpublished research, and should not be submitted for publication elsewhere. They are limited to 8 pages, must be written in English, and the format should adhere to the A4 double column IEEE style. You can download the latex and word template from IEEE website

Papers should be submitted electronically as a PDF file via the Easychair system at

The proceedings of the TASE 2019 symposium will include all accepted papers. The proceedings will be submitted for inclusion to IEEE Xplore. As last year, selected papers will be invited after the symposium to submit an extended version to a journal special issue Science of Computer Programming.

Topics of submission

The symposium is devoted to theoretical aspects of software engineering. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

* Abstract interpretation

* Algebraic and co-algebraic specifications

* Component-based software engineering

* Cyber-physical systems

* Deductive verification

* Distributed and concurrent systems

* Domain Engineering

* Embedded and real-time systems

* Feature-oriented software

* Formal verification and program semantics

* Integration of formal methods

* Language design

* Model checking and theorem proving

* Model-driven engineering

* Object-oriented systems


* Probability in software engineering

* Program analysis

* Program logics and calculi

* Requirements engineering

* Reverse engineering and software maintenance

* Run-time verification and monitoring

* Semantic web and web services

* Service-oriented and cloud computing

* Software processes and workflows

* Software architectures and design

* Software testing and quality assurance

* Software safety, security and reliability

* Specification and verification

* Type systems and behavioural typing

* Tools exploiting theoretical results


General Co-Chairs:

Xianxian Li (Guangxi Normal University, China)

Zhi Li (Guangxi Normal University, China)


Program Co-Chairs:

Dominique Mery (LORIA & University of Lorraine, France)

Shengchao Qin (Teesside University, United Kingdom)


Program Committee:


Erika Abraham, RWTH Aachen University, DE

Yamine Ait-Ameur, IRIT, University of Toulouse, FR

Étienne André, Université Paris 13, FR

Toshiaki Aoki, JAIST, JP

Guangdong Bai, Griffith University, AU

Richard Banach, University of Manchester, UK

Luis Barbosa, University of Minho, PT

Marcello Bonsangue, Leiden University, NL

Michael Butler, University of Southampton, UK

Andrew Butterfield, Trinity College Dublin, IR

Bihuan Chen, Fudan University, CN

Liqian Chen, National University of Defence Technology, CN

Xin Chen, Nanjing University, CN

Florin Craciun, Babes-Bolyai University, RO

Rocco de Nicola, Institute for Advanced Studies Lucca, IT

Ylies Falcone, INRIA, FR

Rob van Glabbeek, CSIRO, AU

Sebastiaan Joosten, University of Twente, NL

Florian Kammueller, Middlesex University, UK

Pierre Kelsen, University of Luxembourg, LU

Quang Loc Le, Teesside University, UK

Guoqiang Li, Shanghai Jiaotong University, CN

Jianwen Li, Iowa State University, US

Qin Li, East China Normal University, CN

Xiaoshan Li, University of Macau, MO

Zhi Li, Guangxi Normal University, CN

Yang Liu, Nanyang Technological University, SG

Yepang Liu, Southern University of Science and Technology, CN

Dominique Mery, LORIA &University of Lorraine, FR (co-chair)

Mohame Mosbah, LABRI - University of Bordeaux, FR

Mohammad Reza Mousavi, University of Leicester, UK

Chunyan Mu, Teesside University, UK

Shin Nakajima, National Institute of Informatics (NII), JP

Kazuhiro Ogata, JAIST, JP

Jun Pang, University of Luxembourg, LU

Yu Pei, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, HK

Shengchao Qin, Teesside University, UK (co-chair)

Fu Song, ShanghaiTech University, CN

Ting Su, Nanyang Technological University, SG

Wen Su, Shanghai University, CN

Jing Sun, (University of Auckland, NZ)

Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, SG

Meng Sun, Peking University, CN

Cong Tian, Xidian University, CN

Keming Wang, Southwest Jiaotong University, CN

Meng Wang, Bristol University, UK

Xiaolan Xie, Guilin University of Technology, CN

Zhiwu Xu, Shenzhen University, CN

Hongji Yang, Leicester University, UK

Wang Yi, Uppsala University, SE

Naijun Zhan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, CN

Chenyi Zhang, Jinan University, CN

Lijun Zhang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, CN

Hengjun Zhao, Southwest University, CN

Jianjun Zhao, Kyushu University, JP

Hong Zhu, Oxford Brookes University, UK

Huibiao Zhu, East China Normal University, CN



Steering Committee:


Keijiro Araki (Kyushu University, Japan)
Jifeng He (East China Normal University, China)
Michael Hinchey (Lero, Ireland)
Shengchao Qin (Teesside University, UK)
Huibiao Zhu (East China Normal University, China)
Shengchao Qin (Teesside University, UK)
Huibiao Zhu (East China Normal University, China)



Local Organizing Committee:


Chair: Zhixin Li (Guangxi Normal University, China) 
Member: Chunlan Li (Guangxi Normal University, China)



Leave a message


Important dates

  • Conference Dates

    29 Jul.



    31 Jul.


  • 04 Jan.


    Abstract submission deadline

  • 11 Jan.


    Draft paper submission deadline

  • 22 Mar.


    Draft paper acceptance notification

  • 30 Apr.


    Final paper deadline

Contact information