In 1984, the 1st ICHPS (International Conference on Harmonics in Power Systems), the forerunner to ICHQP (International Conference on Harmonics and Quality of Power) was held in Worcester, Massachusetts. 62 authors attended this conference presenting 42 papers.

Over the years the conference has grown and the number of papers presented has tripled. The scope of the conference has also been widened to encompass all areas of power quality.

The importance of power quality management in transmission and distribution networks is seen to be increasing with the proliferation of renewable energy resources, energy storage systems and electric vehicles. Understanding of the potential problems created by new forms of generation and load technologies is vital to the maintenance of quality and reliability of the power supply for the benefit of all stakeholders.  The main aim of the conference is to provide a platform for a dialogue between academics, industry practitioners and government representatives to address power quality as it relates to green economies.

Hosts: Co-hosted by University of Wollongong Australia and University of Wollongong in Dubai

Theme: Power Quality in the Green Economy  – development of enabling approaches for sustainable power systems

Dates: 22 - 25 March 2020

Venue: University of Wollongong in Dubai

Call for paper

Important Dates

Draft paper submission deadline:2019-10-01

Call for paper description

All accepted and presented papers will be sent for publication to IEEE Xplore.

The 19th IEEE PES ICHQP 2020 conference is being organized by the University of Wollongong Australia and the University of Wollongong in Dubai, UAE, between the 22nd - 25th March 2020. The theme of the conference is "Power Quality in the Green Economy - development of enabling approaches for sustainable power systems" which aligns with the theme "Green Economy" of the EXPO2020 event being held in Dubai.

Topics of submission

ICHQP cordially invites participants from universities, research centres, utilities, industries and regulatory agencies to submit original papers connected to the following topic areas to Power Quality in the context of smart grids:

  • Analysis and Modelling (Networks, Devices, Loads etc.);
  • Measuring and Monitoring Techniques;
  • Sources of Disturbances (Converters, Traction Systems, Network Harmonics etc.);
  • Power Conditioning (Active and Passive Filters, VAr Compensation, UPS, Surge Protection Devices, Phase Balancing etc.);
  • Standards and Recommended Practices;
  • Diagnostic Systems and Expert System Applications;
  • Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC);
  • Power Quality in Distribution System;
  • Impact of Distributed Generation on Power Quality;
  • Quality Aspects of Industrial, Commercial and Residential Consumers;
  • Grounding Systems;
  • Power Definitions and Measurements under Nonsinusoidal and Unbalanced Conditions;
  • Power Quality, Economics and Liability;
  • Power Quality in a Deregulated Electricity Market;
  • Smart Grids and Power Quality;
  • Electrical vehicle integration and renewables integration.


Local Organising Committee

Sarath Perera
University of Wollongong, Australia
Conference Co-Chair

Haile-Selassie Rajamani
University of Wollongong Dubai, UAE
Conference Co-Chair

Joel Kennedy
University of Wollongong Dubai, UAE
Conference Secretary

International Steering Committee

Yahia Baghzouz (Co-Chair), USA

Dario Zaninelli (Co-Chair), Italy

Alexander E. Emanuel, USA

Paulo Fernando Ribeiro, Brazil

Maria Teresa Correia de Barros, Portugal

Thomas Ortmeyer, USA

Gary Chang, Taiwan

Sarath Perera, Australia

Sakis Meliopoulos, USA

José Policarpo G. Abreu, Brazil

Thomas J. Gentile, USA

Reuben R. Burch, USA

W. Mack Grady, USA

Alfredo Testa, Italy

Rao Thallam, USA

Mark Halpin, USA

Wilsun Xu, Canada

Alex McEachern, USA

George Cristian Lazaroiu, Romania

Dan Sabin, USA

International Technical Committee

Dario Zaninelli, Italy (Chair)

George Cristian Lazaroiu, Romania (Co-Chair)

Alexander E. Emanuel, USA

Alfonso Capasso, Italy

Alfredo Testa, Italy

Ângelo Rezek, Brazil

Antonio Carlos Zambroni de Souza, Brazil

Carlos Duque, Brazil

Carlos Henrique Duarte, Brazil

Carlos Tavares, Brazil

Cristina Roscia, Italy

Damasio Fernandes, Brazil

Enrico Tironi, Italy

Fernando Belchior, Brazil

Francisc Zavoda, Canada

Gary Chang, Taiwan

Igor Papic, Slovenia

Irena Wasiak, Poland

José Antenor Pomílio, Brazil

José Carlos Oliveira, Brazil

Julio Barros Guadalupe, Spain

Kazimierz Wilkosz, Poland

Manfredo Lima, Brazil

Mark Halpin, USA

Math Bollen, Sweden

Mihai Popescu, Romania

Morris Brenna, Italy

Nelson Kagan, Brazil

Neville Watson, New Zealand

Nicolae Golovanov, Romania

Nubia Silva Dantas Brito, Brazil

Paulo F. Ribeiro, Brazil

Paulo M Silveira, Brazil

Pedro Machado, Brazil

Péter Kiss, Papua New Guinea

Philip Ciufo, Australia

Regina Lamedica, Italy

Roberto Langella, Italy

Rose Mary de Souza Batalha, Brazil

Ruth Leão, Brazil

Sarah Rönnberg, Sweden

Sarath Perera, Australia

Sasa Djokic, Scotland

Sjef Cobben, The Netherlands

Sonia Leva, Italy

Thomas Ortmeyer, USA

Vladimir Cuk, The Netherlands

Walmir de Freitas Filho, Brazil

Wilsun Xu, Canada

Yahia Baghzouz, USA


Leave a message


    Contact information


    Sponsored By

    • University of Wollongong Australia
      University of Wollongong in Dubai

    Supported By

    • IEEE Power & Energy Society
      University of Wollongong - Dubai