SampTA (Sampling Theory and Applications) is a biennial interdisciplinary conference for mathematicians, engineers, and applied scientists. The main purpose of SampTA is to exchange recent advances in sampling theory and to explore new trends and directions in the related areas of application. The conference focuses on such fields as signal processing and image processing, coding theory, control theory, real analysis and complex analysis, harmonic analysis, and the theory of differential equations. SampTA features plenary talks by prominent speakers, special sessions on selected topics reflecting the current trends in sampling theory and its applications to the engineering sciences, as well as regular sessions about traditional topics in sampling theory. Contributions from authors attending the SampTA conferences are usually published in special issues of Sampling Theory in Signal and Image Processing, an international journal dedicated to sampling theory and its applications. The proceedings of SampTA from 2015 on are indexed in IEEE Xplore.

The SampTA conference series began as a small workshop in 1995 in Riga, Latvia, but the meetings grew into full-fledged conferences attracting an even mix of mathematicians and engineers as the interest in sampling theory and its many applications blossomed. This even mix makes the SampTA meetings unique in the scientific community. The conference organization is headed by an international steering committee consisting of prominent mathematicians and engineers, and a technical committee responsible for the conference program.

Past meetings

  • Tallinn, Estonia, July 3–7, 2017  [IEEE Xplore]
  • Washington, D.C., U.S., May 25–29, 2015 [IEEE Xplore]
  • Bremen, Germany, July 1–5, 2013
  • Singapore, May 2–6, 2011
  • Marseille, France, May 18–22, 2009
  • Thessaloniki, Greece, June 1–5, 2007
  • Samsun, Turkey, July 10–15, 2005
  • Strobl, Austria, May 26– 30, 2003
  • Orlando, U.S., May 13– 17, 2001
  • Loen, Norway, August 11– 14, 1999
  • Aveiro, Portugal, July 16– 19, 1997
  • Riga, Latvia, September 20– 22, 1995

Call for paper


the 13th SampTA (Sampling Theory and Applications) conference will be held at University of Bordeaux, France, July 8-12 2019.

The plenary speakers are 
Alexandre d'Aspremont (ENS Paris, France) 
Bubacarr Bah (AIMS, South Africa) 
Marcin Bownik (U. Oregon, USA) 
Massimo Fornasier (T.U. Munich, Germany) 
Anna Gilbert (U. Michigan, USA) 
Rémi Gribonval (INRIA Rennes, France) 
Urbashi Mitra (U. South California, USA) 
Ursula Molter (U. Buenos Aires, Argentina) 
Nikhil Srivastava (UC Berkeley, USA - to be confirmed) 
Pierre Vandergheynst (EPFL, Switzerland)

and there will be 8 invited sessions

Compressed sensing and low-rank matrix recovery (Felix Kramer & Richard Kueng
Deep learning (Misha Belkin & Mahdi Soltanolkotabi
Frame theory (John Jasper & Dustin Mixton
Graph signal processing (Karlheinz Gröchenig & Isaac Pesenson
Low-rank and missing data imputation (Laura Balzano & Rod Little
Phase Retrieval (Tom Goldstein & Irène Waldspurger
Quantization (Sjoerd Dirksen & Rayan Saab
Time-frequency analysis (Antti Haimi & José-Luis Romero)

The conference focuses on such fields as signal processing and image processing, information theory, control theory, real analysis and complex analysis, harmonic analysis.<

Author guidelines

Preparation of the manuscrit:

  • Your proceeding paper should be prepared with LATEX using the style documentclass[conference] {IEEEtran}
  • The maximal length of your paper is 4 pages . The final refereed paper should also not exceed 4 pages.
  • An exemple of LATEX is available here.

The submission is done in 2 steps via EDAS

    • If you have an account you can use it
    • Otherwise, you need to create an account
    • Once connected, go to  "Submit a paper", search for "samptA" in "name of journal or conference". Once you found the conference go to +in the "Submit" column
  • Phase 2 - paper submission : This is done in 4 steps
    • Step 0 - Session: chose the type of session
      • Invited: if you have been invited, go to the corresponding invited sessions
      • General session (oral only): chose this if you do not want to present a poster
      • General session (oral or poster): chose this if you are ready to present a poster in case we can not accomodate an oral presentation for you
      • poster session: chose this if you don't want to present your paper orally
    • Step 1 - Metadata:
    • Step 2 - Authors:
      • You are one of the authors of your paper (uses the data of your account) and presenter
      • You can add more authors. If they already have an EDAS account, you can retrieve all information, otherwise, you need to indicate name, first name, affiliation, and email.
    • Step 3 - Files:
      • Download the PDF files of your article, prepared in IEEE/conference style. Do not forget to actually transfer the file once you found it on your hard drive
      • You can alternatively give a link to the PDF of your paper
      • Paper longer than 5 pages are automatically rejected by the system.

Your submission will be refereed by end of march 2019


Organising Committee

Jean-François Aujol, Université de Bordeaux 
Andreas Hartmann, Université de Bordeaux
Philippe Jaming, Université de Bordeaux
Karim Kellay, Université de Bordeaux

Technical Chairs of SampTA 2019

Arash Amini, Sharif University of Technology
Radu Balan, University of Maryland
Holger Boche, Technical University Munich
Monika Dörfler, Vienna University
Holger Rauhut, RWTH Aachen
Rebecca Willett, University of Wisconsin

Steering Committee

Ahmed Zayed, Chair (DePaul University, USA),
Akram Aldroubi  (Vanderbilt University, USA),
John Benedetto  (University of Maryland, USA),
Yonina Eldar  (Technion, Israel),
Paulo Ferreira  (University of Aveiro, Portugal),
Gitta Kutyniok  (TU Berlin, Germany),
Farokh Marvasti  (Sharif University of Technology, Iran),
Götz Pfander (Catholic University Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Germany)[chair],
Bruno Torrésani  (Aix-Marseille Université, France),
Michael Unser  (EPFL, Switzerland)

Founding Members

Paul Butzer  (RWTH Aachen, Germany),
Hans Feichtinger  (University of Vienna, Austria),
Karlheinz Gröchenig (University of Vienna, Austria),
Rowland Higgins (Anglia Polytechnic University, UK),
Abdul Jerri  (Clarkson University, USA),
Yuri Lyubarskii  (Norwegian University of Science and Technology),
Gerhard Schmeisser  (Erlangen-Nürnberg University, Germany),


Post a message


Important dates

  • Conference Dates

    08 Jul.



    12 Jul.


  • 15 Feb.


    Draft paper submission deadline

Contact information