iWEM started in 2010 and was named as “International Conference on Applications of Electromagnetism and Student Innovation Awards” (2010 ICAE/SIA). The conference was renamed in 2011 as “IEEE International Workshop on Electromagnetics: Applications and Student Innovation Competition” (2011 IEEE iWEM). Supported by IEEE, this workshop series provides not only an international platform for scientists and engineers to exchange their ideas, but also a good venue for young scholars and students to demonstrate their innovative results.

IEEE iWEM2021 is organized by South China University of Technology, and co-sponsored by IEEE Guangzhou Joint AP/MTT Chapter, Guangdong Artificial Intelligence and Digital Economy Laboratory, and Guangzhou Association For Science & Technology. The accepted and presented papers will be submitted for publication in IEEE Xplore and the authors are invited to submit expanded versions of their conference papers to the Special Issue on iWEM 2021 in Microwave and Optical Technology Letters.

Sponsor Type:1; 3; 5; 9


Organizing Committee
Honorary Chairs:
Quan Xue, South China University of Technology
Qing-Xin Chu, South China University of Technology

General Chairs:
Xiu Yin Zhang, South China University of Technology
Wenquan Che, South China University of Technology

TPC Chairs:
Fu-Chang Chen, South China University of Technology
Wenjie Feng, Nanjing University of Science and Technology
Jin-Xu Xu, South China University of Technology

ISC Chairs:
Dau-Chyrh Chang, Atenlab Technologies Inc.
Kwai-Man Luk, City University of Hong Kong
Hiroyuki Arai, Yokohama National University
Qing-Xin Chu, South China University of Technology
Yiannis Vardaxoglou, Loughborough University
Y. Jay Guo, University of Technology Sydney
Jianguo Ma, Guangdong University of Technology
Ming Yu, Southern University of Science and Technology

Award Chairs:
Hang Wong, City University of Hong Kong
Kaixue Ma, Tianjing University
Haiwen Liu, Xi’an Jiaotong University

TPC advisors:
Yunliang Long, Sun Yat-sen University
Guohao Zhang, Guangdong University of Technology
Yejun He, Shenzhen University

Publicity Chairs:
Takeshi Fukusako, Kumamoto University
Yue Gao, University of Surrey
Roberto Gomez-Garcia, University of Alcala
Sungtek Kahgn, Incheon National University
Chow-Yen-Desmond Sim, Feng Chia University
Kwok L. Chung, Qingdao University of Technology
Yang Yang, University of Technology Sydney
Zhi-Hong Tu, South China University of Technology

Special Session Chairs:
Yongmei Pan, South China University of Technology
Shaowei Liao, South China University of Technology
Haoshen Zhu, South China University of Technology

Publication Chairs:
Junhui Ou, South China University of Technology
Wanchen Yang, South China University of Technology

Local Arrangement Chairs:
Yunfei Cao, South China University of Technology
Haidong Chen, South China University of Technology

Finance Chairs:
Xiangyu Li, South China University of Technology
Yongdan Kong, South China University of Technology

Call for paper

Important date

Draft paper submission deadline
Draft paper acceptance notification

Submission Topics

The topics include, but are not limited to, the following technical areas:

  • Electromagnetic Theory
  • Computational Electromagnetics
  • Antennas and Propagation
  • Instrumentation and Measurement
  • Advanced Materials and Processes in
    RF and THz
  • Wireless Systems
  • Millimeter Wave, THz Technologies
  • Microwave Circuits and Systems
  • EMC
  • Wireless Power Transmission and
    Harvesting etc.
  • Other EM Topics


Paper Submission

Prospective authors are invited to submit manuscripts in electronic (PDF) format only. All papers must be written in English and limited to three pages including text, references, and figures. A template is available on the IEEE iWEM2021 website. Papers submitted will be peer reviewed and all papers presented at the conference will be included in IEEE Xplore pending quality review.

Student Paper Awards

Awards for Best Student Paper(s) will be presented to the winners at the conference. The Award Committee will judge the papers primarily on originality, significance, technical soundness, presentation, and reviewers’ reports. To quality for the Best Student Paper, the author must be a full-time student who presents, as the first author, the paper at the conference.


Exhibition of company products is solicited for the areas related to the topics. Interested parties could contact the Conference Secretariat.

Submit Comment
Verify Code Change Another
All Comments
Important Date
  • Conference Date

    Nov 07



    Nov 09


  • Aug 30 2021

    Draft paper submission deadline

  • Sep 30 2021

    Draft Paper Acceptance Notification

Sponsored By
South China University of Technology
Supported By
IEEE Guangzhou Joint AP/MTT Chapter
Guangdong ArtificialIntelligence and Digital Economy Laboratory
Guangzhou Association For Science & Technology
Contact Information
Scan the QR code×