Registration 〔OPEN〕

My tickets


On behalf of the organizing bodies for the 12th International Congress on Mathematical Education(ICME-12), the International Programme Committee(IPC), the Local Organizing Committee(LOC), and National Advisory Committee(NAC), I cordially invite all the readers of this Third Announcement to participate in the ICME-12 to be held in Seoul from July 8th to 15th, 2012. The Congress is to be held under the auspices of the International Commission on Mathematical Instruction(ICMI).

The IPC, comprised of 22 members from 18 countries, has put together a rich, varied and multi-faceted scientific programme for the Congress with the aim of attracting and addressing the entire community of researchers and pioneers of mathematics education all over the world. The programme will provide food for thought and inspiration for practice for all, from established mathematics educators of world renown to novices in the field attending their first ICME, and everyone else with interest in mathematics education. Through Plenary Activities, Regular Lectures, Survey Teams, Topic Study Groups, Discussion Groups, and other activities, the state of the art in mathematics education research and the practice of mathematics teaching and learning will be examined and demonstrated from international perspectives.

The LOC is comprised of four subcommittees for planning, financing, administrating and advertising the event, as well as monitoring various emerging issues. All these sub-committees have made every effort to make ICME-12 successful in contributing to the sustainable development of mathematics education not only across the whole world but also within Korea. Since the Second Announcement issued in the last April, LOC has achieved many things such as: developing the implementing database system for proposal and paper submissions and registration, funding the budget, embodying the Congress scientific programme planned by IPC, developing various cultural events including excursions and exhibitions, and securing accommodations with reasonable prices, etc.

This Third Announcement is the summary of what these committees have done so far, containing helpful information for all who are planning to participate in ICME-12. I would like to express my sincere thanks to all IPC members and LOC members for their commitment and thoughtfulness. Particularly, I am thankful to all Congress Subcommittee members for their efforts in making the preparation of this announcement possible.
I am very much looking forward to seeing you at ICME-12 in Seoul and am sure that your participation will contribute to the success of the ICME-12.


 International Programme Committee 

● Michèle ARTIGUE, Université Paris Diderot - Paris 7
● Évelyne BARBIN, Centre François Viète Faculté des sciences et des techniques
● Bill BARTON, (Ex officio, President of ICMI), The University of Auckland
● Morten BLOMHOEJ, IMFUFA Roskilde University

● Gail BURRILL, Michigan State University
● Jaime CARVALHO E SILVA, (Ex officio, Secretary-General of ICMI), Universidade de Coimbra
● Sung Je CHO, Chair, Seoul National University
● Johann ENGELBRECHT, University of Pretoria
● Bernard R. HODGSON, Université Laval
● Gabriele KAISER, University of Hamburg
● Mercy KAZIMA, University of Malawi
● Petar KENDEROV, Higher Attestation Commission
● Masataka KOYAMA, Hiroshima University
● Oh Nam KWON, Seoul National University
● Frederick LEUNG, The University of Hong Kong
● Hee Chan LEW,(Co-chair of the LOC), Korea National University of Education
● Shiqi LI, East China Normal University
● Cheryl PRAEGER, University of Western Australia
● Marcela SANTILLÁ, Directora General de Educación para Profesionales de la Educación
● Hyun Yong SHIN, (Chair of the LOC), Korea National University of Education
● K. (Ravi) SUBRAMANIAM, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
● Yuriko YAMAMOTO BALDIN, Universidade Federal de São Carlos,

Local Organizing Committee

● Hoon CHANG, Inha University,
● Kyung Yoon CHANG, Konkuk University,
● Sooil CHOI, Kyung Bok High School,
● Jin Soo CHUNG, Korea Foundation For the Advancement of Science and Creativity,
● Boo Yoon KIM, Pusan National University,
● Sung Sook KIM, Paichai University,
● Dongheun LEE, Hana Academy Seoul,
● JoongKwoen LEE, Dongguk University,
● June Bok LEE, Yonsei University,
● Jung Rae LEE, (Chair of the Financial Sub-committee), DaeJin University,
● KyeongHwa LEE, Seoul National University,
● Sang Gu LEE, Sungkyunkwan University,
● Hee Chan LEW, (Co-chair, Chair of the Congress Sub-committee), Korea National University of Education,
● Jeong Suk PANG, Korea National University of Education,
● Kyung Mee PARK, (Chair of the Public Information Sub-committee), Hongik University,
● Man Goo PARK, Seoul National University of Education,
● Sun Hwa PARK, Korea Institute for Curriculum and Evaluation,
● SeogHoon RIM, Kyungpook National University,
● Dong Yun SHIN, University of Seoul,
● Hyun Yong SHIN, (Chair), Korea National University of Education,
● Joon Kook SHIN, (Chair of the Planning Sub-committee), Chungnam National University,

Submit Comment
Verify Code Change Another
All Comments
Important Date
  • Conference Date

    Jul 08



    Jul 15


Sponsored By
Korea National Univ.