The Compound Semiconductor Week (CSW) is the premier forum for science, technology, and applications of compound semiconductors.  CSW2022will be held in person at the University of Michigan at Ann-Arbor, Michigan.

CSW 2022 continues the tradition of bringing together the compound semiconductor community to discuss the most recent advances in the field. After the successful meetings in Stockholm, Sweden in 2021 (held virtually due to Covid-19), Nara, Japan (2019), and Boston, USA in 2018, CSW comes back to the US, to the beautiful college town of Ann Arbor, Michigan, a perfect setting to reunite the semiconductor community. As in previous years, CSW combines both the International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors (ISCS, now in its 48th year) and International Conference on Indium Phosphide and Related Materials (IPRM, now in its 33rd year) conferences into a single integrated event.  



Tomas Palacios

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Ex-Officio member, Immediate past General Chair of CSW-US

Grace Xing

Cornell University, General Chair, Immediate past Technical Chair of CSW-US

Zetian Mi, University of Michigan, Technical Chair

Patrick Fay

University of Notre Dame, Vice Technical Chair

Pei-Cheng Ku

University of Michigan, Local Organization Chair 

Parag Deotare

University of Michigan, Hybrid Platform Organization Chair 

CSW-2022 Technical Program Sub-Committees

1. Materials and Characterization

1.1 Narrow bandgap materials

Ganesh Balakrishnan (Chair) University of New Mexico

Seth Bank University of Texas at Austin

Jun Tatebayashi Osaka University

Kurt Eyink AFRL

Holger Eisele TU Berlin

Gary Wicks University of Rochester

Preston Webster AFRL

1.2 Nanostructures

Hieu Nguyen (Chair) New Jersey Institute of Technology

Tao Wang Sheffield University

Andreas Waag Technische Universität Braunschweig

Lan Fu Australian National University

George Wang Sandia National Labs

Fumitaro Ishikawa Ehime University

1.3 Novel materials and characterization

Parag Deotare (Chair) University of Michigan

Can Bayram UIUC

Robert Hovden University of Michigan

Javad Shabani New York University

Austin J. Minnich Caltech

1.4 Wide and ultra-wide bandgap materials

Ramon Collazo (Chair) North Carolina State University

Ronny Kirste Adroit Materials, Inc.

Robert Nemanich ULTRA EFRC, Arizona State University

Robert Kaplar Sandia National Labs

André Strittmatter OVG-University of Magdeburg

Markus Wagner TU Berlin

Yoshinao Kumagai Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology

2. Devices and Technologies

2.1 High-frequency devices

Farid Medjdoub (Chair) IEMN – CNRS, France

Martin Kuball University of Bristol, UK

NG Geok NTU, Singapore

Merlyne Desouza University of Sheffield, UK

Niklas Rorsma Chalmers University, Sweden

2.2 Power electronics

Rongming Chu (Chair) Pennsyilvania State University

Woongje Sung SUNY Poly

Travis Anderson Naval Research Lab

Kelson Chabak Air Force Reseach Lab

Andrei Vescan RWTH Aachen

Man-Hoi Wong UMass Lowell

Elahen Ahmadi University of Michigan

2.3 Semiconductor lasers and LEDs

Nelson Tansu (Chair) University of Adelaide

2.4 Optoelectronics and Integrated Photonics

Shamsul Arafin (Chair) The Ohio State University

Takashi Asano Kyoto University, Japan

Sarvagya Dwivedi imec, Belgium

Xiaohang Li King Abdullah University, 

Songtao Liu Intel, USA

Zhenguo Lu National Research Council, Canada

3. Physics and Emerging Devices

3.1 Semiconductor physics

Siddharth Rajan (Chair) Ohio State University

Andrew Armstrong Sandia National Laboratory

Nicolas Grandjean École Polytechnique Fédérale de La

Tamotsu Hashizume University of Hokkaido

Debdeep Jena Cornell University

Gregor Koblmuller Technical University of Munich

Tetsuya Takeuchi Meijo University

Shengbai Zhang Renssalaer Polytechnic Institute

3.2 Organic semiconductors and flexible electronics

John Kymissis (Chair) Columbia University

3.3 Other novel device concepts including ferroelectrics, spintronics etc.

Peide Ye (Chair) Purdue University

Uttam Singisetti University of Buffalo

Xiuling Li University of Texas

Asif Khan Georgia Institute of Technology

3.4 Quantum electronic and photonic devices

P.C. Ku (Chair) University of Michigan

Brandon Demory Lawrence Livermore National Lab

Joel Grim Naval Research Lab

Sheng-Di Lin National Chiao-Tung University

Mark Holmes University of Tokyo

Khaled Mnaymneh National Research Council, Canada

Rachel Oliver University of Cambridge

Sharif Sadaf Université du Québec

IPRM Steering Committee Members

Mattias Hammar (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)(Chair)

Shinji Matsuo (NTT, Japan)

Tomas Palacios(MIT, USA)

Huili (Grace) Xing (Cornell University, USA)

Shigehisa Arai(Tokyo Tech, Japan)

Hajime Asahi(Osaka Univ., Japan)

Sophie Bouchoule(CNRS-LPN, France)

Takatomo Enoki(NTT, Japan)

Norbert Grote(Fraunhofer HHI, Germany)

Sebastian Lourdudoss(Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)

Yuichi Matsushima(Waseda Univ., Japan)

Yasuyuki Miyamoto(Tokyo Tech, Japan)

Yoshiaki Nakano(Univ. Tokyo, Japan)

Abderrahim Ramdane(CNRS-LPN, France)

Mark Rodwell(UCSB, USA)

Andre Scavennec(Alcatel Thales III-V Lab, France)

Osamu Wada(Kobe Univ., Japan)

ISCS Steering Committee Members

Eric Tournié (Univ. Montpellier, France)(Chair)

Yasuhiko Arakawa (Univ. Tokyo, Japan)

Colombo Bolognesi (ETH, Switzerland)

James Coleman (Univ. Texas Dallas, USA)

Shizuo Fujita (Kyoto Univ., Japan)

Nicolas Grandjean (EPFL, Switzerland)

James S. Harris (Stanford Univ., USA)

Yoshiro Hirayama (Tohoku Univ., Japan)

Diana Huffaker (Univ. Texas Arlington, USA)

H.S. Jeon (Seoul National Univ., South Korea)

Umesh Mishra (UCSB, USA)

Henning Riechert (Paul Drude Inst., Germany)

Tom Tiedje (Univ. British Columbia, Canada)

Martin Walther (Fraunhofer-Inst., Germany)

Hiroshi Yamaguchi (NTT, Japan)

Call for paper

Important date

Abstract submission deadline
Abstract notification of acceptance

We are looking forward to receiving your abstracts with the most recent and exciting developments on compound semiconductors. As in previous years, Wiley’s physica status solidi (a) will publish a special issue with selected papers from CSW 2022. More information will be sent to presenters after the paper selection.

Submission Topics

1. Materials and Characterization 

1.1 Narrow bandgap semiconductors (antimonides, phosphides, arsenides, etc.)

1.2 Nanostructures (quantum dots, nanowires, 2D materials, etc.) 

1.3 Novel materials and characterization (nanocarbon, Perovskites, BaSnO3, quantum  materials, etc.) 

1.4 Wide and ultra-wide bandgap materials (GaN, Ga2O3, Sc-III-N, AlN, BN, Diamond, SiC, etc.) 

2. Devices and Technologies 

2.1 High-frequency devices 

2.2 Power electronics 

2.3 Semiconductor Lasers and LEDs 

2.4 Optoelectronics and integrated photonics 

3. Physics and Emerging Devices 

3.1 Semiconductor physics  

3.2 Organic semiconductors and flexible electronics  

3.3 Other novel device concepts including ferroelectrics, spintronics, superconductivity etc.

3.4 Quantum electronic and photonic devices 

Submit Comment
Verify Code Change Another
All Comments
Important Date
  • Conference Date

    Jun 01



    Jun 03


  • Feb 14 2022

    Abstract Submission Deadline

  • Mar 31 2022

    Abstract Notification of Acceptance

Sponsored By
University of Michigan