The International Conference on Embedded Wireless Systems and Networks (EWSN) is a highly selective single-track international conference focusing on the latest research results on embedded systems and wireless networking. This year, EWSN will go outside Europe for the first time, and be held in Beijing, China. 

The conference proceedings will appear in the ACM Digital Library. Selected accepted papers will be fast-tracked to ACM Transactions on Sensor Networks (TOSN) or ACM Transactions on the Internet of Things (TIOT). 

Call for paperSubmit paper

Important Dates

Draft paper submission deadline:2018-10-20

Call for paper description

The International Conference on Embedded Wireless Systems and Networks (EWSN) is a highly selective single-track international conference focusing on the latest research results on embedded systems and wireless networking, key enablers for visionary scenarios such as the Internet of Things and Cyber-Physical Systems. Building on 15 years of successful EWSN conferences, the 16th edition marks a significant change: for the first time, EWSN will go outside Europe, and be held in Beijing, China. The conference aims at a broader impact world-wide, while maintaining its role as a premier conference originated from Europe. 

Submission Instructions

Submissions to EWSN 2019 must be original (i.e., not previously published) and not currently under review by any other conference or journal. EWSN 2019 will adopt a double-blind review process. Authors must make a good faith effort to anonymize their submissions to ensure that author identities are not disclosed to reviewers. We will also offer authors a rebuttal phase before final decisions are made. 

Formatting requirements. Full paper submissions must have at most 12 pages. Short paper submissions must have at most 6 pages. Pages must have 8.5" x 11" (letter) two-column format, using 10-point type on 11-point leading, with a maximum text block of 7" wide x 9" deep with an inter-column spacing of .25". The page limits include figures, tables, and references. 

Author guidelines

Paper registration: September 7, 2018 
September 14, 2018 (extended) 
Paper submission: September 14, 2018 
September 21, 2018 (extended) 
Authors rebuttal deadline: November 16, 2018 
Notification: December 1, 2018 
Each deadline is 23:59 UTC-12 (AoE). 

Topics of submission

The conference solicits both full technical papers and short papers describing validated early ideas. Specific topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Communication and networking for wireless and embedded systems
  • Sensing, actuation, and control
  • Operating systems, middleware, and services
  • Processing, storage, and management of data
  • Programming paradigms, languages, and tools
  • Emerging computing platforms, e.g., drones and robots
  • Time and location management
  • Dependability (real-time, reliability, availability, safety)
  • Sustainability (low-power operation, energy management, energy harvesting)
  • Privacy and security in applications and systems
  • Human-machine interaction with wireless and embedded systems
  • Design and implementation of real-world applications and systems
  • Measurement studies and deployment experiences

Contributions that reflect emerging technologies and applications related to industrial IoT are particularly welcome. 



General Co-Chairs 
Yunhao LiuTsinghua University (China) 
Guoliang XingThe Chinese University of Hong Kong (China)
TPC Co-Chairs 
Yuan He Tsinghua University (China) 
Gian Pietro PiccoUniversity of Trento (Italy) 
Workshop Co-Chairs
Mo Li, Nanyang Technological University (Singapore)
Marco Zimmerling, Technische Universität Dresden (Germany)
Poster Co-Chairs
Simon Duquennoy, RISE SICS (Sweden)
Rui Tan, Nanyang Technological University (Singapore)
Demo Co-Chairs
Zhichao Cao, Tsinghua University (China)
Hongkai Wen, University of Warwick (UK)
Competition Chair
Carlo Alberto Boano, Graz University of Technology (Austria)
Markus Schuss, Graz University of Technology (Austria)
Phd Colloquium Co-Chairs
Lothar Thiele, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (Switzerland)
Thiemo Voigt, Uppsala University and RISE SICS (Sweden)
Industry Liaison Chair
Xiaohua Tian, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China)
Local Arrangement Co-Chairs
Fan Li, Beijing Institute of Technology (China)
Liang Liu, Beijing University of Posts And Telecommunications (China)
Jiliang Wang, Tsinghua University (China)
Registration Chair
Zhenge Guo, Tsinghua IoT Center (China)
Publicity Co-Chairs
Octav Chipara, University of Iowa (USA)
JeongGil Ko, Ajou University (Korea)
Olga Saukh, Graz University of Technology (Austria)
Fu Xiao, Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications (China)
Publication Co-Chairs
Bernd-Christian Renner, Hamburg University of Technology (Germany)
Yuanqing Zheng, Hong Kong Polytechnic University (China)
Web Chair
Xipeng Ma Tsinghua University (China)

Technical Program Committee

Maurizio Bocca, Xandem (USA)
Philippe Bonnet, IT University of Copenhagen (Denmark)
Matteo Ceriotti, University of Duisburg-Essen (Germany)
Mun Choon Chan, National University of Singapore (Singapore)
Jiming Chen, Zhejiang University (China)
Wei Dong, Zhejiang University (China)
Wan Du, University of California, Merced (USA)
Prabal Dutta, University of California at Berkeley (USA)
Luoyi Fu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China)
Jie Gao, Stony Brook University (USA)
Vlado Handziski, Technische Universität Berlin (Germany)
Wen Hu, University of New South Wales (Australia)
Polly Huang, National Taiwan University (Taiwan, China)
Konrad Iwanicki, University of Warsaw (Poland)
Christine Julien, University of Texas at Austin (USA)
Salil Kanhere, The University of New South Wales (Australia)
Olaf Landsiedel, Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden)
Zhenjiang Li, City University of Hong Kong (China)
Dimitrios Lymberopoulous, Microsoft Research (USA)
Andrew Markham, University of Oxford (UK)
Julie McCann, Imperial College London (UK)
Luca Mottola, Politecnico di Milano (Italy) and RISE SICS (Sweden)
Amy Murphy, Bruno Kessler Foundation (Italy)
Chiara Petrioli, University of Rome (Italy)
Andreas Reinhardt, Technische Universität Clausthal (Germany)
Utz Roedig, University of Lancaster (UK)
Kay Römer, Graz University of Technology (Austria)
Anthony Rowe, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
Leo Selavo, University of Latvia (Latvia)
Longfei Shangguan, Microsoft Research (USA)
Philipp Sommer, ABB Corporate Research (Switzerland)
Junehwa Song, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (Korea)
Cormac Sreenan, University of Cork (Ireland)
Eduardo Tovar, University of Porto (Portugal)
Xinbing Wang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China)
Kaishun Wu, Shenzhen University (China)
Chenren Xu, Peking University (China)
Yanyong Zhang, University of Science and Technology of China (China)
Pei Zhang, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
Yuanqing Zheng, Hong Kong Polytechnic University (China)
Xiaolong Zheng, Tsinghua University (China)


Leave a message


Contact information


Sponsored By

  • University of Oslo, Norway
    TU Darmstadt, Germany